I Finally Did It!

Wow, it has been a long time since I’ve posted. Like… a really long time.

I am a bad blogger.

But that’s going to change from now on. As you’ll know I’m going to make that change. If you’ve watched the video above you’ll understand. If you haven’t watched it yet then what are you waiting for?! Watch it! It’s right there. I’ll wait.

Have you done?

Ok, good.

So, as I said in my vlog (my first ever vlog, squeeeee!) I’m setting myself goals for the quarter of February to April. They’re very loosely outlined in the video but I’m going to go in to more depth now.

  1. Outline Witch Abbey.
  2. 40,000 words written for Witch Abbey.
  3. Do a Weekly Vlog.
  4. Write and post a blog post to go with all videos.
  5. Complete 3 jobs per week.
  6. Finish the granny coat.
  7. Alter 6 items of clothing.
  8. Journal every night.
  9. Complete all squares from the Art of Knitting.
  10. Look in to editors for Witch Abbey.
  11. Get channel art for YouTube.
  12. Get a cover photo for Twitter.
  13. Read one book a week.
  14. Get a haircut.

Ok. There’s a lot of them. Then again I’m aiming to get at least half, if more done, so they’re not too intimidating really. At least not right now. But it’s time for the breakdown of the why and the how.

Outline Witch Abbey
Write 40,000 words of Witch Abbey

Yeah, I’m putting those two together because while they may be two separate goals on the list they are related to each other. This one I’m not too worried about completing. I think that I can do it. It may take me a while but I think I can. I mean, I can write 5,000 words a day. 40,000 is what…. a week or so of 5,000 a day. I should be able to do it. As to the outlining. I don’t always stick to the outlines I create. Mostly they’re just starting points and a rough map to where I’m trying to go. Also a lot of it’s already in my head, just waiting to be put down on the computer. The only worry that I do have is staying motivated.

I want to get these two done though. I want to get a book out and this is a story that hasn’t really left my mind for months. Since September of last year actually. It just keeps growing and growing and getting bigger and bigger in my mind. I don’t think staying on track is going to be an issue to be honest.

Weekly vlog
Blog post to go with each video

I want to make content for you guys. It’s what I enjoy and I really get a rush out of every view that I get. Linking the two things together for me makes sense. Not only does connecting the blog post with my YouTube videos give me something to write about but it gives you even more content to look at and if you want to know more about what I do in the videos then you can come over here and see for yourself. It’s a win for both of us!

Finish granny coat
Alter 6 items of clothing
Complete squares for Art of Knitting

These three are all about making things and ensuring that I get to do something that I enjoy just for me. I love to knit, I love to crochet and I love to sew. Having these goals just makes sense as this way I have to make sure that I’m doing the things I love and also pushing myself in those areas. I’ve never altered clothing, I’ve not completed all of the squares and I’ve never crocheted something as big as a giant cardigan. It’s new stuff and I get something useful out of it at the end.

Also, if I record what I’m doing or at least some parts of it that means extra videos for you guys. I’ve already picked out the clothes I want to alter!

six-outfits
The Six Outfits

Journal every day.

I think that this one is kind of self explanatory. I went in to it a fair bit in the video but I’ll go over it again. I love to journal but I get put off by how much room the traditional journal leaves you with. I feel like I have to fill up at least a couple of pages for it to be worthwhile. With my little Everything Book though I don’t feel like that. I only need to fill in a very narrow section. And I get to play around with watercolours and sticking things in. It’s all very therapeutic and helps me to clear my mind before bed. That’s never a bad thing in my book.

Look in to Editors for Witch Abbey.

I have a feeling that this one may be one of the tougher ones. I have no idea where to start or even where to find editors. But hopefully I’ll be able to find something. I know there are at least three things I need to do for this goal: figure out what type of edit/editor I need, find editors who works in the book’s genre, contact them. Not bad really but I think it probably takes longer than I expect to actually get it done. I’m not going to let that stop me though. This will be the year I publish a book!

Cover photos for YouTube and Twitter

Ok, you caught me, they’re not completely necessary but I really wanted to include them. These are all about building my platform, something that I’ve heard is very important for writers and anyone really nowadays. No one’s going to want to visit my channel time and time again if it’s ugly and boring. And I just want something pretty for Twitter. I can use these to express who I am in just a glance. Of course it’s not as simple as getting a picture and shoving it up there. I’ve got to decide what sort of image I want, what I want it to say to a person when they see it and I’ve got to actually get it. So it seems quick and easy but it isn’t. I really want to get these two done.

Get a haircut.

Do I really need to explain this one? I need a haircut. I’m bad at actually booking it. In to the goals it goes. Plus it’s an almost guaranteed win for me.

There we go then, the whys and hows of my quarterly goals. I would really love to get a win for each and every one of them but I’m not completely sure I will. Life has an annoying way of screwing me over. I’m not going to let that stop me though.

Do you have any quarterly goals? What about weekly goals? How do you decide on the goals you’re going to set? Do you have any tips for reaching these goals? Let me know in the comments down below and I’ll be sure to respond.

 

 

Leave a Reply

